Hi.

So here I am, starting a blog in 2014. That sounds a bit passé at this point. Maybe next I’m going to go out and buy a CD player and read the newspaper. I’ve been doing something resembling blogging for about 10 years now, first on Livejournal, then Myspace, then Facebook. For the most part, the things I wrote there were things I just wanted to share with friends. I stopped making my Livejournal entries public after a year or so, once I figured out that that was an option, and on the other sites I never made anything public. I’ve never attempted writing anything for the general public, not regularly.

I was another two paragraphs along in explaining why I’m starting this blog when I realized that none of that was really what I wanted to say. So I deleted it. Maybe that’s because I don’t have any lofty expectations for this blog. I don’t fit neatly into any age group in terms of lifestyle, behavior, beliefs, and the like. I’m the type who transcends cliques and social strata. I love that. But that is a topic for another day. I was going to say that I am old enough that I tend to think of social media as primarily a venue for entertainment, and sometimes it seems a little ridiculous to me when I hear of people making careers and public policy decisions based on those things. I know people who take their blogging very seriously, and they are part of a blogging subculture with traditions and etiquette that I don’t understand. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with that, I guess I’m just trying to say that I’m not trying to be like that.

I’m just going to be me. I think a lot. Sometimes I share those thoughts with my friends on my Facebook. And for some reason, I decided I need to share them here with the public. I don’t know if anyone other than my friends will ever find this page, but who knows?

One comment

Leave a Reply

