Exit 40. Something which I have not done in as long as I can remember.

An hour or two from now, I will have completed something which I have not done in as long as I can remember: I have not watched one minute of the NFL playoffs this year.

I apologize for those of you looking for non-sports-related content on here.  I have some things I’ve been thinking about that I will have more fully formed opinions about next week.

This is the second Super Bowl I have intentionally avoided.  There was one Super Bowl a while back when one team was the team that eliminated my 49ers, and I had had a bad experience with a fan of that team at that time, and the other team, I can’t stand that team or their fans for a lot of reasons.  But I didn’t avoid the playoffs entirely that year because, obviously, the 49ers were in it at one point.  I didn’t watch the Super Bowl at all that year; in fact, I went to Costco in the middle of the game, and it was more empty than I’ve ever seen it.  It was nice.

Usually, I watch the Super Bowl even when I don’t care about the teams involved, and usually, I even come up with a team that I would prefer to win, even if I don’t really care that much.  But the way I see it, with the Seahawks, and the Patriots, and Katy Perry doing the halftime show, everyone loses.

This also marks two years in a row that I have not been to a Super Bowl party, and at least five years in a row that I have not been to a Super Bowl party locally, because most of my local friends these days aren’t into football.  I didn’t realize until I was an adult that there were people in this country who didn’t follow sports.

Now if you’ve been a fan of one of those teams for a long time, then I hope you enjoyed the game.  (I still don’t know what’s going on in the game, so I don’t know if your team won.  I’m sure I’ll hear soon.)  I’m okay with that.  If you’re a fan of Katy Perry and you wanted to watch the Super Bowl for the halftime show, I’m a bit less okay with that, but to each his/her own, whatever.  If you’re a bandwagon fan who just moved to Seattle or Massachusetts, and all of a sudden you love your team after years of talking about how much you hate football, then I personally find people like you kind of annoying, but that would be true regardless of what team was involved and how that team did that year.  You can redeem yourself, however, by staying true to your team in the future, even through the bad years.  And the Seahawks and Patriots will have bad years again.  You bandwagon-jumpers wouldn’t understand this, but just wait and see.

It felt really weird to be ignoring the NFL playoffs while scrolling through Facebook posts of excited and disappointed fans talking about their teams’ games.  I’m just kind of fed up with the NFL in general right now.  Part of that is, of course, the disappointing season the 49ers had.  There is a lot of talent on that team, and it got wasted due to internal team strife, conflicts between players and coaches, rumors started from the outside, and bad calls.  But also, things are just getting ridiculous.  When we have players being punished by the league because they are required to speak to the media against their wishes as an obligation to the fans, players trash-talking each other on Twitter and acting like 10-year-old playground bullies, and all the increasingly convoluted rules about what is and isn’t allowed on the field, it just takes the fun away from the game.  I enjoy football, but this year just left something to be desired.

I’ve been occupying myself with basketball season just fine, and occasionally hockey (but not as much as usual because I don’t have cable).  And baseball season is just around the corner.  The cycle keeps going on and on.  The wheel in the sky keeps on turning.

Leave a Reply

