Exit 171. Assumptions need to be challenged.

A couple weeks ago, I was asked to help out with something at school.  I was prepared for the possibility about a week in advance, and I said sure, because it was not anything particularly taxing.  Given the circumstances, which aren’t really relevant here, it was not going to be known until the last minute if they needed my help.  (This essentially involved a contingency plan, because a guest speaker was unexpectedly in a situation where she may have had to cancel unexpectedly.)  And sure enough, at the last minute they asked me to do what I had prepared for.

As I was leaving work that day (it was a Thursday), the principal thanked me again for my help, and my willingness to step up.  She said to send her an email with my favorite Starbucks drink, and I did.  Vanilla bean frappuccino.  As I’ve said multiple times before, I don’t like coffee.  I can’t handle the taste of coffee.  I tried, back in the ’90s when hanging out at the coffee shop was all the rage.  A couple times, I ordered coffee drinks with lots of stuff in them to make them taste better, and I couldn’t finish them because I could still taste the coffee.

Friday morning, during my first period class, the principal walks in with my drink.  I smile and say thank you, even though I can see right away that it is not a vanilla bean frappuccino.  Maybe one of my Starbucks employee friends can help me out here, since Starbucks isn’t an option yet on Google Translate… the label said “Gr Cafe Vn Frapp.”  My guess is that it was similar to my desired vanilla bean frappuccino, but with iced coffee too.

I mentioned, with students in earshot, that this wasn’t the drink I ordered.  But I really did not want to be unappreciative.   So I took a sip.  Not great, but not as bad as I expected.  I stirred in the whipped cream, which made one student tell me I was doing it wrong because I have to drink the whipped cream first.  But stirring in the whipped cream made it taste better.

I finished the whole drink.

I drank a coffee drink.  The whole thing.  For the first time in my life.

I’m probably not going to order this again.  It wasn’t that great.  But I learned something really important from this experience: Maybe some of my long-held assumptions need to be challenged.  I always thought I didn’t like anything with coffee in it, but apparently that is not entirely true.  What else out there might not be entirely true?

One comment

  1. I’m glad you liked the drink. I love coffee. I was at a birthday party when I was around 7 and the mother gave us each a bowl with what I thought was ice cream. I took a big bite. It was something horrible I had never eaten before: cottage cheese! Awful! Well, especially when you are expecting ice cream. I avoided cottage cheese like the plague, until about 25 years later. I actually liked it.

    Oh, the mother at the party was a health nut. Not that it’s nutty, I just don’t know what else to call her. My mom explained afterwards she didn’t allow her kids to have sweets.

Leave a Reply

