Exit 131. Eating one for the first time.

A while back, I clicked on one of those clickbait articles meant to make Gen-Xers and baby boomers feel old.  This one was a video of so-called millennials who had never eaten a Big Mac before, and their reactions upon eating one for the first time.

I realized something after watching this video: despite being older than anyone in the video, I had never eaten a Big Mac either.

I’ve eaten at McDonald’s before.  As a kid, I ate quite often at McDonald’s.  But rarely hamburgers.  I was a Chicken McNugget fan as a kid.  I didn’t like pickles, or most vegetables, on my burgers as a kid, so I just assumed that I liked my burgers with just ketchup and mayonnaise.  In fact, it wasn’t until early adulthood that I discovered that I liked mustard and onions on cheeseburgers, and this was only because I forgot to ask for no mustard and no onions one day.  In my early adulthood, the southern California-based chain In-N-Out Burger expanded into northern California, and that became my go-to fast food burger for a long time.  It is still one of my favorites, although I have other go-tos these days too.

On Fridays, I’m usually so tired from the work week that when I get home, I don’t do much the rest of the evening.  I usually treat myself to food somewhere cheap, or somewhere that I have a coupon.  I was thinking about this video during the week, and in the spirit of trying new things, or things that are new to me at least, I decided that this week’s Friday fast food treat for me would be a Big Mac.

It wasn’t bad.  It wasn’t Earth-shatteringly impressive, but it wasn’t bad.  It wasn’t as big as I was expecting for a double cheeseburger.  For one thing, a double cheeseburger is supposed to have more than one piece of cheese.  And the patties aren’t really all that big.  I suppose it would have been a much bigger deal when this was a new product in the 60s, but I suppose I’m used to a new generation of fat-asses that want bigger burgers.  But it wasn’t bad, and it’s an option in the future.  And now I can say I’ve tried it.

I still don’t know what the third bun is for, though.

4 comments

  1. I’ve eaten at McDonalds numerous times, but I don’t remember ever eating a Big Mac, either. My go-to there is the Quarter Pounder, since the meat-to-bread ratio is more to my liking (meat > bread). The 3rd bun is totally unnecessary!

  2. Big Macs are my husband’s favorite. He still eats them after 39 years of marriage. I’m a burrito fan, but the best burgers to me are at Burger King because they are char-broiled.

    1. I’m from California. In-N-Out is my go-to fast food burger. The story of how I discovered my love for In-N-Out is interesting enough that it may be a future post itself. And the story involves Jeff (80isenough). There are other non-drive-thru burgers I really like too; the bacon cheeseburger from Red Robin comes to mind.

      1. The only time I’ve been to In-N-Out was in Las Vegas. My daughter and I were driving through to Pahrump, where my sister lived. I will say, that was one of the best burgers I ever had. lol

Leave a Reply

