Exit 129. I wish you wouldn’t worry, let it be.

Friday night, I was home, doing nothing, and I broke down crying.

It wasn’t completely out of nowhere.  It happened while I had my music on shuffle, and this song came on.

If you are anti-country music and don’t want to click the link, look up the lyrics; if you’re not willing to do that, then the TL;DR version is that he is singing about all the things that he wishes he could go back and tell his teenage self.  As with many works in this genre, the general tone is along the lines of “everything will be all right, life gets better.”

And I started crying because I feel like everything is not all right, and life has not gotten better.

Now there are certainly some specific situations for which I could tell my younger self that they aren’t worth getting worked up over in the long run.  Like in elementary school, pretty much everyone, even random strangers, made fun of me and called me names, but if I could, I would tell my past self that there would come a time a decade or so later when that wouldn’t happen very often.  I can’t say it never happens anymore, every once in a while I get random jerks driving by and yelling rude harassing comments out of their car windows, but this is definitely the exception rather than the rule, and I have real friends now too.  And in high school, regarding one of the times I told a crush that I liked her and she didn’t feel the same way back, I would tell my past self that it wouldn’t have worked out anyway, because she would come out as a lesbian in her 20s.  I don’t know if that would have made me feel any better back then, but it’s true.

But, for example, the Brad Paisley song contains this lyric:

You got so much up ahead
You’ll make new friends
You should see your kids and wife
And I’d end by saying have no fear
These are nowhere near
The best years of your life

I can’t tell my past self to get over rejection by a crush because “you should see your kids and wife”… I’ve never had a wife or kids.  And sometimes high school and college do feel like the best years of my life, because life was a lot less complicated then.  I had a lot more in common with the people surrounding me simply because of my place in life as a student, and I didn’t feel like an anomaly everywhere I went.  Yes, it’s true, things may get better in the future, and I may have a wife and kids someday.  But at the time the song was written, recorded, and released, Brad was younger than I am now.  It’s easy for me to expect that it should have all happened by now.  And all of that just came washing over me like a flood on Friday night.  That is why I started crying.

The song ends like this:

I wish you wouldn’t worry, let it be
I’d say have a little faith and you’ll see
That’s what I need.  Don’t worry, let it be.  There are a lot of circumstances I can’t control, and as I’ve said many times before, I need to find ways to accept what is and make the most of it.  And there are many people who have things a lot worse than me.  Things aren’t so bad after all.
4 comments

  1. When I’ve been sad about my life, I also said those things to myself. It helps a bit, but when the pain is deep it keeps rising to the surface.

    Man, my heart just goes out to you. I want to say something that will help. All I have is what helped me, therapy and God. I keep writing things and deleting them. I am praying for you.

  2. I was thinking about when I was wanting a husband. I had been alone with two girls after my divorce. I was very lonely. The last year I had dated a man who turned out to be horrible. I broke off with him and finally said to God, “I’m not going to try to find a husband any more. I’m giving it all to you and if I have to be alone the rest of my life, that’s okay.” I met my second husband, who I am still with after 40 years just a week later.

    We have gone through hard times adjusting and raising the children together. But as I look back, I know he was the kind of husband I needed. He is confident, loyal to God and me, strong, hard-working, and extremely generous with his money, to me and the children. He stayed with me when I became mentally ill. I stayed with him when he became physically sick which changed our lifestyle in every way. So, in spite of the stormy marriage we have gone through, I am so glad God sent him my way.

    I have learned through watching Joyce Meyer to believe, “God is working,” she means that when we pray, God is working for us. Perhaps not in the way we want, but he is working for our ultimate good. I believe this now with all my heart. You can rest in God when you believe this. I gave all my hopes, aspirations and dreams for my life to God and he has taken me into joy and happiness. i used to get up and hate having a new day to make it through. Now, I am beginning to wake up happy, knowing God has good things planned for me. In fact, just knowing he is beside me each moment of the day is a wonderful thought. Believe me, I was not like this 2 years ago. But hey, I’m 66 years old and I have had a lifetime of very slow learning of how to trust God. Very slow. I hope you learn faster than I did. Lol

Leave a Reply

