Exit 108. Maybe I’m braver than I think.

I recently finished rereading through the entire Harry Potter book series.  It was the third time through for me, maybe fourth; I’m not entirely sure.  (Those of you who are familiar with the Harry Potter universe can skip the rest of this paragraph.)  In the books, Harry’s school, Hogwarts, was founded in the 10th century by the four greatest wizards of that time: Godric Gryffindor, Helga Hufflepuff, Rowena Ravenclaw, and Salazar Slytherin.  (Apparently it was quite fashionable for wizards in 10th-century England and Scotland to have alliterative names.)  The four of them each had different qualities and traits that they sought in their students, so students were separated into four houses representing each of the teachers’ preferred traits.  The four founders created a magical hat to sort the future generations of students who would attend Hogwarts after their passing.  Gryffindors are brave and courageous, Hufflepuffs are loyal and hardworking, Ravenclaws are intelligent and clever, and Slytherins are powerful and ambitious.  There are exceptions, but Harry and most of the major protagonists of the series are Gryffindors, and the majority of the villains are Slytherins.  Voldemort, the main antagonist (who is basically Wizard Hitler), is the last direct descendant of Salazar Slytherin.

Some time ago, around 2004 I think, I found a quiz on the Harry Potter website that would sort you into one of the four houses (kind of like those “Which ___ Are You?” quizzes that become trendy on the Internet every few years).  The first time I took it, I was sorted into Hufflepuff.  I was a bit indignant at first, because in the book, the house of Hufflepuff is often portrayed as unexceptional and somewhat weak, the leftover wizards who aren’t good enough for any of the other houses.  Of course, several Hufflepuff students in the book (Ernie, Hannah, Justin, Susan) are key allies of Harry and his friends during the battles of the later books, and there is no shame in being one of them.  But still, I wanted to be either a Gryffindor, because I identified with the heroes of the story, or a Ravenclaw, because I see myself as intelligent.  I took the quiz several more times, sometimes changing one answer on questions that had two choices I couldn’t decide between, and sometimes leaving my answers the same, and I think I got sorted into all four houses at least once.  But the more I thought about it, I realized I really could identify as a Hufflepuff.  I am certainly loyal and hardworking.  I’m not necessarily brave enough to be the first one to rush to a fight, or the most clever one to use my brain to solve major problems, and I’m definitely not the most ambitious one out there.  I quickly became proud to be a Hufflepuff.

In the meantime, a new official Harry Potter website called Pottermore was launched.  Recently, while I was rereading the Harry Potter books, I decided to take the official authoritative sorting quiz on Pottermore.  I was looking for confirmation that I really was a Hufflepuff, although I answered the questions as honestly as I can.

This quiz put me in Gryffindor.  So much for all that Hufflepuff pride.  Really, me?  A Gryffindor?  I’m not brave.  I’m just me.

There are some interesting side plots in the book, and fan theories, about how students are chosen for Gryffindor.  The Sorting Hat almost puts Harry in Slytherin, but he chooses not to go into Slytherin because he has heard that many dark Wizards were Slytherins.  Ron and Hermione, Harry’s two closest friends, have qualities that are more stereotypical of Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw, respectively; one unconfirmed fan theory is that they somehow chose to be in Gryffindor too.  And Neville, one of Harry and Ron’s roommates in Gryffindor Tower, is portrayed as timid, quiet, and forgetful, not qualities often associated with Gryffindor.  Neville’s story is most interesting to me.  He comes from a family with a long history in the wizarding world, and many of his family members were worried for a long time that he would not have any magical powers at all.  The reader finds out more of his back story later, which I will not give away here.  But in one of the final scenes, when it looks like the bad guys are about to win, Neville courageously stands up to Wizard Hitler and refuses to proclaim allegiance to the house of Slytherin.  He then uses the sword of Godric Gryffindor to kill a certain magical creature, which is a key step in the plan for how to defeat Wizard Hitler.  (I can’t explain why without giving too much away.)  When the moment happens, Neville shows himself to be a true Gryffindor at heart.

Maybe I’m like that.  Maybe, when it counts, I’m braver than I think.  Maybe I’ll have moments like that where I need to stand up for who I really am, and I’ll find the courage I never knew I had.

Bring it on.

2 comments

  1. This is a very accurate post! I took a quiz not long ago and I was Hufflepuff too 🙂 But courage isn’t just about fighting villains but it’s also making the first step, fighting our own demons and fears. I’ve recently read a book called To Kill a Mockingbird and it really shows what real courage is compared to what we think it is. Also, would you recommend reading the Harry Potter books? Are they different from the films?

    1. Very true. And I have a lot of demons and fears left to fight.

      I know To Kill A Mockingbird. I read it in high school, and I reread it a couple years ago. Good illustration.

      Yes, by all means, read the Harry Potter books. The films were pretty accurate on the main points, but since the books get longer as the series goes on, there were more and more side plots cut out from the films, and details glossed over, that made the books a much richer story.

      I should point out that I was not a Harry Potter fan from the beginning. I was a college student when the first book was published, so I didn’t really think much of a book that was getting a lot of hype as something children were reading. A few books into the series, my mom got obsessively into Harry Potter, and I felt a little neglected; why, Mom, didn’t you ever get into anything I like this way? Mom kept telling me I would really like the Harry Potter books, and I should read them, and I said maybe someday. A few years later, I was visiting my parents (let’s see, I was 26 at the time), and we were sitting around one night trying to find a movie we could all watch. Mom found the DVD of Harry Potter 1 and asked if I had read or seen any of the Harry Potters yet. I said no. Mom said let’s watch this, then, and if you decide you don’t like it after half an hour, I promise I won’t make you finish it, and I’ll never bug you about it again. After half an hour, I wanted to finish the movie and see what happened… and after I finished the movie, I wanted to read the books… I was instantly hooked. 🙂

      Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

