Exit 89. Silence.

“Oh, I know, the silence was the loudest thing I ever heard.”

“And silence that speaks so much louder than words of promises broken.”

This has been on my mind a lot lately.  Silence says a lot.  When you interview for a job, and they say they’ll get back to you, and they don’t, that means they don’t want to hire you.  I’ve been on dates many times with women who say that they had a good time and want to see me again, but then I never hear from them again, and if I attempt to contact them, my attempt is ignored.  So, basically, they lied when they said they wanted to see me again.  Actions, or lack thereof, speak much louder than words.

Even in situations of less pressure, like within a platonic friendship, silence speaks loudly.  If someone wants me in their life, they’ll make enough time to show me this.  If they keep blowing me off, and it becomes a pattern, I’m not going to go out of my way trying to convince them that I still want to talk to them.  (By the way, I’m not being passive-aggressive here, and this message is not directed at one specific individual who has been ignoring me.  It’s just something that’s been on my mind in general the last few days, influenced by many experiences both from my past and the pasts of my friends.)

Sometimes I feel like a bad friend, though.  Sometimes I get busy with work, and life, and then I feel like hiding from the world for a few days, and I forget to make time for people.  So I’m going to stop writing now and go answer some messages.

Leave a Reply

