Exit 81. If everyone feels this way, then the terrorists have already won.

The news this week hasn’t been good, for the most part.  Lots of terrorist attacks, drive by shootings, and other tragedies that have become all too commonplace in the world of today.  In response to this, a younger college student friend posted on Facebook that it was crazy that we have to be afraid to go anywhere these days because of terrorists.  She said that every day in class, or every time she goes to a movie, she wonders if someone is going to shoot everyone there.

I don’t mean to be harsh in my reply to this, but if everyone feels this way, then the terrorists have already won.

I’m not trying to say that we shouldn’t take these incidents seriously.  We should.  I’m not saying we should forget that they happened.  We shouldn’t.  There are a lot of people still out there who have lost loved ones in incidents like this.  They are suffering in a way I can’t imagine.  But I, for one, refuse to capitulate to fear.  Terrorists want to spread terror.  That’s why they’re called terrorists, not murderists or explosionists.  They want us to be afraid and capitulate to them.

I grew up in Salinas.  Historically, my hometown’s claim to fame is being the birthplace of Nobel Prize-winning author John Steinbeck.  But more recently, Salinas has been earning a dubious distinction as a gang battleground.  A few years ago, I was visiting my family there, and one of the major local news stories was that a young child had been killed as an innocent bystander in a drive-by shooting.  In response to that incident, some sort of youth sports team based in nearby Monterey cancelled a tournament appearance in Salinas, fearing for the safety of the kids on the team.  A columnist for the Salinas newspaper wrote a brilliantly sarcastic column that I wish I had saved.  (If the author of this column happens to read this, I’m sorry I didn’t give you the proper credit, or if I got anything wrong.  And I’m going to use masculine pronouns, because I remember it being a man who wrote this, but I could be wrong on this as well.)  He wrote about how his nephew (or possibly some other kid he knew, I don’t think it was his own kid; as I said, I may be getting details wrong) had recently had a baseball game in the same neighborhood where the shooting occurred.  He explained how everyone around him was watching the game, not fearing for their lives, and when his nephew’s team scored, everyone cheered so loud that he couldn’t hear any shooting.  He said that if anyone from “crime-free Monterey” (a phrase he repeatedly used with proverbial tongue in cheek) had attended the game, they would have had just as much fun as if they’d been attending a game in crime-free Monterey without the threat of gunfire.  He concluded on a serious note, that someone can choose to live in fear whenever tragedies like this happen, but he and the families from his nephew’s baseball team chose to stand up for their neighborhood and not be afraid to live their lives.

Living in fear is easy, but you miss out on so much that way.  Yes, I could get shot tomorrow.  I could also die in a car accident through no fault of my own, or a crashing airplane could fall out of the sky on me, or a building could collapse on top of me or with me inside, or I could have a heart attack.  Bad stuff happens.  Jesus predicted that the world would plunge into chaos before he returned (Matthew 24).    There are plenty of reasons to be afraid, and living in fear like that gets me nowhere and do nothing about it.  I’ve learned that the hard way, and I’m still not always very good at it.  But living in fear isn’t going to help me grow.

Lord Jesus, I pray for Paris, and Sacramento, and the regions in the Middle East experiencing unrest, and for the whole world, as we cope with tragedy.  I pray for healing.  I pray that we will come together to support each other in difficult times, and I pray that we will love each other to the point that potential future terrorists don’t feel a need to turn to that life anymore.  And I pray that those who are afraid or hurting will be comforted and find peace.

Leave a Reply

