Exit 64. Seven days.

I have a bad habit of going to used bookstores, used music and movie stores, or just walking past garage sales, then buying a few books or movies really cheap, and letting them sit on my shelf for months or years before I finally make time to read or watch them.  As I write this, I am currently watching the movie The Ring, which I acquired from a neighbor’s garage sale about a year ago and never watched.  I’ve seen it once before, but not in a very long time.  I watched it in a theater when it was new, which would have around 2003ish, I’m guessing, because I remember who I saw it with.  This is a horror movie about a haunted videotape that, if you watch it, you will die in seven days.  (Kids, a videotape is what people used to watch movies in the 1970s, ’80s, and ’90s.  It was kind of like a big rectangular DVD or Blu-ray disc.  And DVDs and Blu-rays are what people used to watch movies before everyone had streaming on-demand video.)

Although I don’t remember much detail about this movie, I remember liking it.  I also remember my friend that I was with jumping and grabbing on to my arm a few times, and I remember thinking years later that she probably liked me, and I should have made a move or something, but I was too blind and confused to see it then, and now she’s married, and it’s probably awkward to put this here in case she reads it, she’s on my Facebook but she never uses Facebook… but I digress.

I remember something else that happened in that theater all those years ago: I realized that I really haven’t seen a lot of horror movies.  It isn’t that I don’t like horror movies; in fact, I have enjoyed the few that I’ve seen.  I just haven’t watched very many.  It was never part of my experience growing up, probably because my mother doesn’t like horror movies.  But there’s no reason I can’t watch horror movies now.  It’s a lot like how I discovered in my teens that I liked roller coasters, after hearing years of Mom telling me that roller coasters were scary.

Sometimes, doing things the way they’ve always been done can block forward progress and growth.  Sometimes, doing things the way they’ve always been done has nothing to do with the best, wisest, or most efficient way to do something.  Sometimes, the way one person has always done something may be different from someone else’s way of doing it, which potentially could lead to a disastrous miscommunication.  I don’t want to be afraid to try new things.  Life changes quickly, and sometimes I need to change the way I do things in order to deal with a new reality.

Leave a Reply

